SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
rachel_cross73

HELP IM TRYING TO GROW ROSES IN HUMID HOT NEMATODE INFESTED FLORIDA!!!

I just moved from the city of Tampa to brooksville in Florida and I just started growing roses and i buy so many I still have so many of them in the pots I bought them in!! I've been doing research and reading as much as I can on growing roses and I have some really good spray but it seems as humid it is here, no matter how much I spray or how I baby my roses some are always showing signs of fungus/disease! It's depressing!! I'm lost I'm still new to growing roses but since I've started that's all I want to do ! I basically live eat n breathe my roses and try to learn as much as I can about growing n caring for them but it gets so discouraging constantly picking off diseased leaves and struggling to keep some of them alive . I've already thrown out so many bushes! My hubby says its to the point that if it's showing signs of disease I need to pitch it so I don't keep infecting the healthier bushes but I can't bear to throw any of them out!! I need advice or tips on how to grow roses in this wretched state. It was 62• & the humidity was 98% 3 days ago! Perfect weather for downy mildew!! I'm tired of constantly stressing over my roses. I had a downy outbreak a couple months ago and threw out so many and I'm still spotting infected leaves here n there... I LOVE ROSES!! I don't want to get so discouraged that I give up completely on them. We just bought a new house on 3 acres and I'm ready to move out of state where I can grow roses without killing myself. I'm so upset over my rose bushes!! I have 23 planted so far out of 170 and some of the bushes I have thatre diseased are just irreplaceable to me. Any advice ? Anyone here grows roses in central Florida?? It's bad enough we have nematodes n have to get bushes grafted onto fortuniana rootstock but the disease pressure here is probably the highest in the U.S.!! It sucks!!!

Comments (45)