SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
myrlene_sanon

New home in central New Jersey- need help decorating

M. s.A.
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

Hello,

My husband and I would like to hire a decorator to help with picking out new furniture, accessories, and their placement etc for family/living room, dining room, foyer, and master bedroom. I've never hired one before but recently did get a recommendation for someone locally and her quote was ~3k total. I'm looking for others to compare this to considering this designer doesn't have connections for furniture discounts. I'm new to Houzz and hoping I could get some advice. Also how best to take advantage of the Houzz resources. Thank you all in advance.

Comments (45)

• Annie Deighnaugh
    8 years ago

I don't know about hiring a decorator as I DIY it. I'd be really careful about the contract though to make sure it really specifies everything you expect them to do for you. Also do get an understanding on how they make their money (mark up off of retail? fee per hour?) as you will be paying it and need to know what you're buying. Maybe others will chime in.

Here are some old threads you may find helpful.

Who recently hired a decorator?

Question-regarding-estimating-interior-decorator-bids

• M. s.A.
    Original Author
    8 years ago

Thank you Annie for the suggestions and also the helpful links. Much appreciated. I am looking for an interior designer or decorator. Thanks again.

• Related Discussions

Apricot in Central New Jersey?

Q

Comments (15)