SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
sandturtle

New home, big backyard (see pics), vegetable bed location suggestions?

sandturtle
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

We just moved into this house (zone 6a, Southeastern Ontario), it has a fairly big backyard,and I'm hoping to plant/ grow some fruits and vegetables next season.

I'm fairly new to fruit/ vegetable gardening, so I'm hoping a few of you might be able to point me in the right direction with my placement of beds, etc.

This thread is essentially just a big "where would you guys place your fruit/ vegetable gardens if you had this backyard" type of a question.

I've included a bunch of google earth pictures here along with one ground view photo to make it easier to get an idea of what I'm working with.

The only thing that's a bit hard to tell from the photos is the grade/ contour of the land (if you drew a straight line from the east fence to the west fence - that's pretty much the starting point for a fairly steady/ even incline with a rise of around 4 feet over a 100 foot run (4% slope) by the time it gets to the n/s high point line which is basically represented by the front edge of the brown shed.

Then, from that n/s line in front of the shed to the back (west) fence line, the ground is fairly flat (it's really the only close-to-flat area of the yard other than a thin patch of lawn just beside the deck to the north where the slope evens out a bit for maybe 4-5 feet before continuing the down slope the rest of the way to the east fence line.)

The difference in elevation from the front/ west edge of the back deck to that front shed line is around 2 - 2.5ft

There's also a slight down slope starting about 7- 10 feet off of the north fence line going down to the base of the fence and this goes all the way across the fence to the east fence line/ gate area. It's probably got a slope of around 4-10% as well.