SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
usnphil

Question regarding financing for building a new home

Curlyp
8 years ago

Hello! This is my first post and I am new to the whole building a new home.

My wife and I just became home owners as little over two years ago. Our family has expanded and is currently expanding as we are expecting our second child in 2016. With that said, we are outgrowing our current house.

My wife and I have been looking at building our home; this way we can build the house we want as the plan is to stay there as the kids grow up. We have looked at many builders around the Central Ohio location (Schumacher, Trinity, Wayne, Diyanni, etc - I have read several threads on Schumacher and Wayne of both positive and negative, so I don't want to start a war!) Each builder has a house we are interested in and each builder does financing differently (either through their own bank or you have to go through your own lender). In addition, the builders want to close on the 'All in one' construction loan before breaking ground proceeds. This is where we have a dilemma.

My wife does not want to sell our home and move to a rental until the house is complete (especially during her pregnancy). One option we have is to close and start the build while we still live in our currently house. However, we don't make enough to have $500,000 loan until (our house sells), nor could we afford two mortgages if our house did not sell by the time our new one is complete.

With that said, does anyone know of any builder that will start the construction without closing on the 'All in one' construction loan, and possibly provide a contingency upon our house selling? Meaning, that if our house didn't sell before the completion of the new home, we are not obligated to purchase it?

Apologies in advance for the long wall of text! If anyone can share their experience or wisdom on this topic, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks in advance!

CP

Comments (23)

• sweetsarahbeth