x300owner

K46 oil change with pictures

leafeanator
8 years ago

K46 oil change with pictures

I know there have been several posts about changing the oil
of a K46. I was a tech writer for over 30 years and hope I can explain this
procedure in better terms. Changing the oil is strictly a preventative
maintenance procedure, however some have reported it helping a weak K46. I originally changed the K46 oil on my 2010 Deere
X300 at 50 hours and now changing it again at 190 hours as preventive
maintenance. I did it originally because Deere buys K46’s from Tuff Torq with
10-30 motor oil in them and the K46 will benefit greatly by having the 5-50
synthetic in it. Synthetic will hold up much better against the biggest
destroyer of a K46 – HEAT. Along
with the synthetic oil, keeping the K46 clean will help it run cooler over the years
and give longer life, I use a leaf blower on mine. Washing with water or hose
is not a good idea, water = rust and some say the water can get into the K46
breathers and into the oil.

NOTE – after changing the oil at 190 hours, the oil drained
was dark but not too bad. But I defiantly felt an increase of power and speed –
surprised me. Time to do the oil change
– 1 hour to pull K46 out, but was taking pictures for this procedure. 1 hour to clean the K46 exterior and drain
the oil. Less than an hour to put it back together. If I was younger than 73 and worked non-stop
it would take about 2 hours.

This write up is specific to the Deere X300 but is very
similar in other tractors with a K46.

A note on Tech writing, when describing left, right, front
or back the position is determined by the operator’s position, not looking at
it from any other position unless noted.

1. Jack up rear of tractor

2. Remove wheels – watch for
    and save the keyways, may be in wheel or on axle or on the floor. (When
    putting wheels back on – put wheel on first and then put the keyway pin
    in.

3. Support rear of tractor on