SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mamaloukos

Please HELP: Nightmare Bookcase-Stain Project

mamaloukos
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

Hi we installed a bookcase that was custom made and unfinished. I got a quote from a pro that I felt was very high for finishing it (almost cost of bookcase) and so I decided to do it myself. It is in the dining room and has to match the china cabinet and other furniture. Originally I did lots of research and settled on a gel stain by General Finishes, but when I went to the store and asked the guy to stain a few samples of the wood so we can match the color, the water based stain by GF was the near exact match to our furniture and the guy said it is thick like a gel so I shouldn't have issues.

Oh boy did this not turn out the way I planned. OK so I read all of the instructions, watched videos etc, and I am an artist and know how to use brushes and all about strokes and paint. The wood was pretty smooth as it was but I sanded with 150 and then 220 grit paper, used the pre-stain conditioner and this is the first coat of stain but I am very unhappy about it.

I want to note at the outset that I am not a purist here. If I can use a product that will save me time and achieve the result I want, then so be it, I don't care if I didn't do it the way it should be done etc. I am expecting our 6th child in a few weeks AND we are having other workers in the house to finish the 1st floor bathroom and a closet and the backsplash so I don't have time for perfect processes and I am at my wits end with this. I was so excited and now my husband is not supportive for me to continue what he sees as a "waste of my time." I did read more about water stains and apparently they start to dry within a minute or two (I thought I had more time than that), but in my case the stuff starts to dry pretty much within 10 seconds or so. I HATE working with this water based stuff.