SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
bernardyjh

A Series of Unfortunate Succulents

bernardyjh
8 years ago

This past couple of weeks has been a rough for both, me (work) and my plants, probably due to the neglect from my care or too much care over the long weekend holiday.

As a grower, we will encounter good days, where everything you do seem to be on the right track and everything just fall into place - likewise there are also bad days where you nothing seem to work out but only failing plants.

Unfortunately for me, I would like to share those bad moments and hopefully you could post some of yours here too. And fortunately for those who can learn from our mistakes and become better growers.

1) I've believe this is my first time killing a succulent by over-watering. I must admit, I was rather heavy handed on my watering late last week due to the hot weather, and the constant sunshine these plants have been getting in the community pot from the roof. All plants shows signs of thirst, so instantly I've been watering the pot almost daily.

Returned home one day and something seemed amiss when I started seeing the crown turning slightly yellow. Gave it a tug, the rosette began to fall apart. Pulled the whole plant out, the roots were mushy and probably had rotted for a day or two - and has already reached the crown. Nothing more I can do but learn from this painful lesson in watering. I had stopped using my weighing method because I thought I was getting better at this. One thing for sure, is that it's definitely much harder to meet the needs of each individual plant when planted in a community pot.

2) Sunburnt E. PvN (variegated)

My Perle von Nurmberg has been encountering stress conditions since the day I repotted it, and I've learnt from Laurent that this plant doesn't do well with much direct afternoon light, hence the extensive sunburnt.