SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
fireduck

Kona Sharwil...wow!

fireduck
8 years ago

I have been growing avos for 40 years. I have downscaled a bit...and now I have just 20 trees and 16 varieties. I ate my first ever Kona Sharwil today. All I can say is wow! It is simply an awesome fruit. It is very good sized, peels easily, acts like it is a semi-dwarf tree, and the fruit is just so good! I am really glad I included this one in my collection.

Comments (34)

• mike (zone 9b San Francisco east bay)
    8 years ago

i'm jealous :P i just got my trees in the ground. i hope to get some fruit set next year.

• fireduck
    Original Author
    8 years ago

Hi M...I hope you got varieties that are somewhat cold tolerant. What did you plant? Ed of Somis

8 years ago

I have a mix . I grew a hass and a fuerte in a 24" box for 7 years i averaged 50 avo's a season they were my learning trees. I just sold those and going to try some more challenging ones.

Lamb, sir prize, reed, sharwil, janboyce, and while I was down there I grabbed a Carmen and gem

8 years ago

I'll grow them out in the box again for 4 years then decide which I will be planting in ground.

We have a lot of micro climates here and where I am it's been over 10 years since we had a hard frost .

• Jay Part Shade (Zone 10B, S21, Los Angeles)
    8 years ago

Hey Ed, congrats on the sharwil! How big is your tree? I'm thinking I'll let mine fruit next year, but I don't want to kill it. What's production like? Also, can you estimate the season for Sharwil? Thanks!

• fireduck
    Original Author
    8 years ago