SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ccinaustin71

Help!! Amending Clay Soil

CC
8 years ago

I am new to gardening and have been doing some research on soil amendment. I have clay soil and was wondering if I could begin by tilling my soil by putting an excess of coffee grounds and horse manure as these are available to me for free. I have begun a compost pile but the quantity won't be near enough to amend the area I would like. I am working an area 10 x 50 ft and am currently getting by with container gardening and will continue to do so until my plot is ready ( a few years from what I understand). I have very alkaline soil and from what I have read, coffee grounds make soil acid and also easier to work. Both of which I am in dire need of. I appreciate any input. Thanks,CC.

Comments (24)

• Jean
    8 years ago

In spite of what you've heard/read, coffee grounds won't acidify the soil.

You can plant the same season you amend. But you must continue with amending with each year. For the first year, consider biting the bullet and buying bulk amendment. If the horse manure is fresh, you should wait to plant for a month or so after tilling it in.

Suggest you start on a smaller plot. 10 x 50 is quite large for a beginner. That's in spite of your experience doing containers. Drainage, growth, fertilizer and water are all different in the ground.

Where do you live?

CC thanked Jean
  • tigershark1976 _
    8 years ago

You would need around 125 cubic ft worth of compost just to mix your top 6 inches soil at ratio of 3 part soil to 1 part compost.... Like what Jean proposed, start with a smaller area. a raise bed could be a good idea.

CC thanked tigershark1976 _
  • Related Discussions

Soil amendments for clay soil in TN

Q

Comments (12)