SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
samirasoni

newbie questions about composting

Hi All,

I am completely new to composting. I have a whole wheelie bin full of grass clippings and loads of cardboard.

I have bought 2 plastic compost bins (330ltr) each and I am thinking of starting composting on those. Bins are shown in this link.

bins link

What is best way to start it? Are grass clippings and carboard good to start or should i give away the grass and start with only vegetable peelings etc from kitchen? I am not in hurry and can start slow.

Comments (79)

• daisy08(London UK)
    Original Author
    8 years ago
    Thanks all. I am learning a lot. Yes flora these bins i got through council and i have small garden. I have put it as far away as i could. I have been putting kitchen scraps and today i noticed there are loads of fruit flies inside bin. Is it normal? I just closed the lid immediately after putting scraps. I have been putting only veg and fruit scraps, no cooked food or dairy.
  • floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    8 years ago

Fruit flies are not a problem. They won't hurt you and they don't spread disease. They'll move on when the fresh fruity stuff is rotted. Add some paper, card, dried leaves, etc. if it looks as if it's getting too sloppy. Which it might if it is predominantly kitchen scraps.

• Related Discussions

Newbie Compost/Safety Questions

Q

Comments (2)
    All sounds like standard good compost additions and certainly nothing harmful for growing food. The brown bags are made for composting so quite safe and while fresh manure use around food has concerns, composted is fine. You may want to do some reading over on the Soil & Compost forum here for lots more details on the whole "connection between dirt and food". ;) You have built what is sometimes referred to as a "lasagna bed" so Google 'lasagna garden' too for even more tips and techniques. Happy gardening. Dave
    ...See More

Newbie composter question about UCG's

Q

Comments (4)