SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
zotikos_hargrave

Off season ever producing garden? A possible reality or just fantasy.

Zotikos Hargrave
8 years ago

Hello all I am very excited to be joining this community!

I am an amateur hydro grower heading into my 3rd season, so far I've mostly done veggies and herbs but this season I wanted to move to fruits as well as a few exotics I enjoy on a regular basis that the grocery stores tend to have older stock of. My question is whether my plan is even plausible or if I've thought myself into a world of fiction which someone may come and kindly wake me from?

The goal is simple, produce constant fruiting bushes throughout the off season in an indoor grow environment with enough yield to sustain a single athletes weekly portions of those species.

The methodology includes staggering plants in an NFT based design so that different plants of different ages will be able to enter the system and produce at offsets allowing for continual harvest.

The equipment includes two home made NFT Z/S shaped towers, each has three branches from top to reservoir and holds 15 net pots of a 4inch diameter spaced 10 inches apart (4inch pvc was used in construction). A third NFT straight line just for greens, dutch buckets for my tomatoes and other veggies or large root requiring monstrosities, and individual pots for things like my figs.

The species I am interested in:

Fruits: Blueberries, Strawberries, Raspberries, blackberries, Cherries (ground), figs, apricots, grapes, avocados, and Tomatoes.

Supplemental fruits I will purchase: Pomegranate, kiwi, citrus, pineapples all of which with the exception of Pomegranate can be purchased in bulk rather inexpensively year round.

Vegetables: Spinach, Arugala, Boston Greens, Peppers (Hot and bell), Sweet Potatoes, mushrooms, Cabbage, Broccoli, Asperagus, Beats, rapini.

Herbs and garnish: Too many to name, has it's own system.

Now obviously this is a rather exhaustive list! After doing a staggered