SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lisaa007

What do you like to make in your kitchen?

lisa_a
14 years ago

A KD asked me this question recently: how do you cook and what do you make in your kitchen? My answers would help create a kitchen well-suited to my preferences.

I'm a fairly simple cook although I wouldn't classify myself as a "meat and potatoes" cook like my mom. When time allows, I like to try my hand at new recipes. Time is my biggest hurdle when it comes to cooking - I just don't have enough at this point in my life but that won't always be the case. And since hubby and I want to take cooking classes together, perhaps we'll try new dishes more often than we do now.

I'm not a baker, at least I didn't use to be but now that I'm on a gluten-free diet and likely will be for the rest of my life, I may become one if for no other reason than to have a decent slice of bread without breaking the bank (have you priced gluten-free bread? Yikes!).

I don't need a kitchen worthy of Julia Child. I don't need the fanciest equipment nor the top of the line items either but I do want a kitchen that is easy to keep clean, is well-organized (these two things often go hand in hand), contains reliable appliances, includes modern conveniences such as a slow-cooker, bread machine and a microwave, and pleases the eye. I wouldn't mind having a little room to grow or flexibility just in case I discover my latent "foodie" gene during cooking classes.

This all got me to wondering about the rest of you GWers, especially after seeing cotehele's lovely bakery. What do you make and how did this impact your kitchen design? Are you a gourmet chef, an accomplished baker or do you, like a good friend told me, "make dinner." ;-)

Comments (56)

• lisa_a
    Original Author
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago