SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ericwww_gw

Help with exterior colors & curb appeal

EricWww
12 years ago

Hello, Ive been referred to this forum from Small Homes and Old Homes sections. The house:

A few things I've already determined- the bushes in the front yard have gotta go. As well as the big tree in the middle that's heaving up the sidewalk. The white trim I started painting in the back (see below) is too bright/stark/boring for the house.

I'm looking to get some more suggestions- so for trim I've been suggested cream, beigey/taupe, gray, even black and green. The mortar is a yellowish mortar, which is probably why the previous owners painted everything yellow. To me the yellow just looks old and reminds me of a dirty white shirt.

More details: I'm tempted to open up the enclosed entry, and replacing it with 2 or 4 columns. It used to have a flimsy screen door that I removed. My reasons- At 5 x 9' it's too small to accomplish anything. I can't put chairs much less a table in there.

The ceiling height is also so low that I can't even get the front door (with sidelites) out of there.

As mentioned, there used to be a in-swinging screen door, but it was a pain in the butt, as the entry is so small to allow for the swing of the door.

Finally it just looks so added on as an afterthought- it's one thing if it was brick like the rest of the house, but it's siding while the rest of the house is brick!

Any suggestions are welcome :)

Thanks for the replies that definitely helps. This is my first house and I've been here 2 years. I've been working on interior stuff so now I'm starting to pay attention to the outside. I also forgot to mention, I'm in Maryland so- the Mid-Atlantic.