SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
phoggie_gw

Let me hear from those who have granite tiles~~

phoggie
15 years ago

I know I have been around this mountain so many times, but we are going to replace our counter-tops, but DH doesn't want to spend much money on them, because we are getting ready to put our house on the market....hopefully soon....and the market is really down here.

On another site, they said to check in the neighborhood and see what they have.....well, there are three new homes built recently in our neighborhood and they have put in granite tiles with no grout. There are very few homes in this town that have slab granite...and there is no way we could recover the price of doing so.

I would really appreciate hearing from you, if you have done this....DH thinks he could do this himself and that seems to be cheaper than the laminate I priced. Also send pics if possible. Thanks for your information.

Comments (48)

• pattymc
    15 years ago

Well, I'm a realtor located in an area with a poor market and I guarantee you that any granite is going to be better than no granite. However that said, remember your buyer pool is likely very small. If you decide to put slab in as opposed to tile, that one buyer everyone is fighting for will be more attracted to your home because of the quality of your updates. Tile granite looks like a compromise and does not offer the "polished" look that slab does expecially around the edges. In the end, you may spend a little more upfront, but experience with my buyers has been they are willing to pay the extra $$ to have slab over tile or laminate in any market so in my opinion you will recoup more in costs than you think. In the end, even if you don't recoup ALL of your costs, you will sell your home FASTER...which is a big deal in this market.