SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
sivyaleah

Almost Done Craftsman Inspired Kitchen

Laurie
12 years ago

Hi all!

First let me begin by saying, the process of doing this kitchen left me more disgusted than I thought I ever would be. I work in the field of architecture and thought I had a good grasp of budgeting but OMG, this was truly a terrible situation every step of the way. Everything that could go wrong did, and in the end, while I'm pleased with the functionality of the room I can not say I'm happy with the way the person that put in the cabinets did them at all. There are SO many things wrong, that if I stopped to tell you all about them, it would make me too annoyed to carry on.

I'm still not done with the room - a year plus after construction. No backsplash (a combination of not finding anything I like and money issues), can't figure out what to do about the one corner where the temporary table is. I have 2 extra wall cabinets (one glass fronted) from two screw ups that I could use up there but, do I build a breakfast bar? Get a regular small table? Not sure.

I've also had issues with the ice maker in the KitchenAid fridge. Love it otherwise - but they are are on the verge of giving me a new one because of it. It's the electrical panel that controls the ice apparently. My Zephyr range hood also crapped out on me but that was repaired (also an electrical panel) and has fine since.

The Viking that people worry about? AWESOME.

I need to repaint badly because a) I hate the color I picked (I picked it before the tile) and b) we had a leak over the winter in the low part of the roof which used to be a porch years ago, the back of the kitchen, and it ruined the new ceiling over the tall cabinet. Thankfully, it didn't get into the electrical, or the cabinets, or even the moldings but the ceiling looks terrible; bubbled and rippled. At least we repaired the roof outside so that shouldn't ever happen again.

So, here are some before shots. Yech, awful, blech.