SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
donnamp14_gw

Home security alarm?

donnamp14
12 years ago

So here I sit on Thanksgiving night, incredulous that my 2 black, cast iron garden urns have been stolen from my front porch, on either side of my front door! I am totally un-nerved and creeped out. We were home since 1:00 Wednesday afternoon. I now realize that no community is safe from crime. I want an alarm system.

I have no experience with this at all. Can anyone give me some tips? What should i be looking for in an alarm system. How much should I expect to pay?

The kicker is that the thieves left the greens I had bought a day earlier to decorate the urns for Christmas. I'll give them to my sister...

Thanks!

-Donna

Comments (34)

• ellendi
    12 years ago

We have Honeywell. Since we no longer have a dog, I like the alarm for a variety of reasons. When I know I am coming home alone, I know that the house is safe. If my husband is out of town, I like putting on the stay feature. Should anyone try to intrude, the siren goes off and I am alerted.
    Alarms can be bypassed. And, I always say that if a robber was in my house, they would have a short time to steal before the police arrive. This means that they also have less time to trash your house.
    Prices can vary, so do your research.

Sorrry about your urns.

• chispa
    12 years ago

We have large spanish style planters that came with the house. They are full of stone/gravel and weigh a ton. The previous owners said the first set they bought were stolen, so they filled the next set full of stone. They aren't going anywhere!!

We have a full alarm system with window/door sensors and motion sensors. We set it every time we leave the house, even if we are just running a quick errand. We also use the "Stay" mode at night, which has the doors/windows armed but not the motion sensors.