SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
txmarti

Does anyone regret getting granite countertops?

TxMarti
15 years ago

I thought if we replaced the countertops, we would just replace the formica, but dh wants granite. We looked at it today & I just don't love it. I think it looks smooth & elegant, but I'm a messy cook & use a lot of glass. I envision chipped edges on my dishes and the edge around the sink being as big a pain to clean as my porcelin sink.

On the other hand, I like the way Corian has the built in sink so it looks like it would clean up nicely.

Comments (68)

• melle_sacto is hot and dry in CA Zone 9/
    15 years ago

I wanted to chime in regarding Corian and the seamless/integrated sink: I have it and clean up is wonderfully easy. My sink/counters are six months old. I have yet to stain the sink/counters BUT I don't leave dishes or messes in the kitchen more than a day b/c our kitchen is completely open to the rest of the house. Also, I am gentle in the kitchen and follow appropriate practices for the type of sink/counter we installed.

I do not have experience with granite except in a hotel, where my water glass left a ring that was dry by evening. That must be what sealing is all about. :-) I agree granite is very pretty.

• raehelen
    15 years ago

I've only had granite counters for 9 months, and I DO regret dealing with the company/fabricator we chose. Won't bore you with my long sad story, but we now have a crack across the peninsula- have to decide soon whether we have it fixed or replace that piece. So, the granite itself is gorgeous, looks as good (other than the crack- which I blame on poor installation), as the day it was installed, and really sets the tone for our kitchen.

Yes, you have to place cups and dishes carefully onto the counter- we haven't broken anything yet- but I'm sure an accident will happen one day.