SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
southorangenj_gw

Advice on Kitchen Sink, Faucet, Undercounter Lighting, etc.!

southorangenj
15 years ago

I'm a complete novice, and I welcome all of your advice - thank you in advance!

We've gutted our 1910 kitchen, which had been mucked up by good-intentioned, cost-sensitive prior owners (drop down ceilings, paneling, linoleum, etc.). We're on a tight budget (well, as far as kitchen reno's go!), too, but we're trying not to be too short-sided. Here are a few background facts before my questions:

(1) We're using hand-me-down cabinets, so I don't know what finish they have (b/c I didn't pick them out) - sort of a light ash, maybe? Rather creamy tan.

(2) We're planning Ceasarstone (quartz) countertops in Carmel (some light tones like the cabinets but also some deeper hues to pop a bit more) (http://www.caesarstoneus.com/catalog/product.cfm?ProductID=45).

(3) The tile floors will be a medium brown (I'm terrible at describing things - they have some marbling of the light cream but mainly are a medium brownish/coffeeish) - I want to use dark grout because of 3 young kids and I also don't want to be too boring cream with the cabinets/appliances.

(4) We're reusing our appliances - all new within past 3 years, but cream and not stainless.

OK - now the questions: