SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
revans1_gw

One more radon thread...what, if anything, is a consumer to do?

revans1
15 years ago

Whats a regular person to do with this radon/radiation information thatÂs floating around? Here are some thoughts that I have on this topic. I am by no means an expert of any kind. IÂm a "regular person" who got interested in all of this several months ago. These thoughts are based on my reading, internet research, and correspondence with people more knowledgeable. If you spot an error or have a different opinion, I welcome a friendly exchange.

First, donÂt panic. This is not an "Oh, my God, run for the hills right now" kind of problem. The worst case scenario that weÂre talking about still involves elevated risks (often just slightly elevated risks) of some kinds of diseases after long-term exposure. ItÂs the sort of thing some reasonable people might well want to know about, and even to take precautions about, but no reasonable person will make a rash decision because of this.

Second, I would propose that most interested or concerned people can be divided into 2 categories. There are (1) those who already have granite and wonder if they have a problem, and (2) those who are considering granite and want to avoid a potential problem. LetÂs talk about the first type, first.