SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
beverlyfladeziner

Opinions Plz: How often do you take a hard look at your home?

BeverlyFLADeziner
10 years ago

I am on year 8 in my current home, and as a designer, I change out furnishings and accessories rather often. I am currently updating some wall colors and finishes that I selected when I first purchased my home,

Some of my neighbors have recently sold homes they moved into 25 years ago when the community was first built, and to my great surprise, nothing has changed inside the homes in 25 years, except for maybe an appliance here and there. Paint, often in pink, blue, or peach, is the same as the day they moved in. Same with carpets, cabinets, tile, window treatment and flooring. Homes are filled with bad fake flowers. I was really surprised to see these homes 'frozen in time'.

I'll bet there are plenty of readers/posters with the same custom drapery treatments & shears on windows or metallic wallpaper on walls they purchased 20 years ago and never changed.

I think a trip to the Salvation Army drive-thru drop off should be an obligation every other month. How often do you think it's necessary to take a hard look at the interior appearance of your home and reevaluate your furnishing, finish & accessory selections?

Comments (71)

• andee_gw
    10 years ago

"I think a trip to the Salvation Army drive-thru drop off should be an obligation every other month. How often do you think it's necessary to take a hard look at the interior appearance of your home and reevaluate your furnishing, finish & accessory selections?"

There is a missing phrase here -- implied -- that might have influenced some responses. I think Beverly meant: "I think a trip to the Salvation Army drive-thru drop off should be an obligation every other month [for me]." Her next sentence then asks about _you_.