SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
stacyd0701

First time here

stacyd0701
10 years ago

Hello Everyone,
This is my first time posting on this forum! I am just at a desperate place with my family & felt the need to reach out to others who could relate. I have been married for what will be 7 years next month to my husband. I have a soon to be 13 year old daughter with my 1st husband who left when I was 8 months pregnant so he is not in my daughters life. I have a 3 year old son with my current husband as well. My daughter was a few days shy of 6 years old when we got married & seemed to get along with my husband at first but still kept him at arms length. In the last 2-3 years their relationship has got more & more strained. I felt he tries to hard to be the disciplinarian instead of putting energy into their relationship. This last year has been the hardest as her hormones kicked in & friends & the internet have become more important to her. My husband handles things differently with her & can be more critical of her friends, music & being on the internet. I feel he is always making a comment which causes her to stay in her room. I tolerate a lot of these things for I feel it is typical of her age & I can remember being her age. Yes at times she is disrespectful & I let her know that is not how we treat one another. I feel in the middle of my daughter & husband for she says he annoys her & I feel she spends time in her room & does not seem to enjoy herself when we are together as a family because of my husband. I just want so much more for our family & have tried to talk to both my husband & daughter but I feel it is something they need to do but neither does. My husband has taken my daughter on a date a few times but has seemed to give up. If roles were reversed I would do anything in my power to have relationship with my husband's daughter. I just feel my husband has to be the adult & keep trying with her & cut back on the nagging & being critical & let me handle the