SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
luvtosharedivs

Viking sewing machines

luvtosharedivs
16 years ago

Hi all,

It's my first time on this forum, and I'd like to ask if any of you have Viking sewing machines, and how do you like them?

My very old Singer (probably 35 years old) needs expensive repair, and I'm thinking of purchasing a new machine. The owner of the store/repair shop sells Vikings from about $400 up to $7,000. I was interested in one about $600, not made in China.

Also, if anyone would recommend a different make, please advise.

Right now I'm working full time and can't sew any big projects, but when I retire in a year or two, might start some machine quilting. I used to sew all my clothes, but only mend things now....need a heavy duty machine that doesn't bog down when mending blue jeans!

Thanks for any and all comments!

Julie

Comments (36)

• patgirls
    16 years ago

I had a Viking many years ago and it was a workhorse, I loved it. It was all metal, which I don't think they do anymore. I traded up to a Bernina, and I have had 3 in the past 25 years. They are very well made also. I sew for a living just so you don't think I need a new machine every few years.

• holly2305
    16 years ago

When my old Singer died, I began looking around for another machine, like you. My local sewing center is a Viking dealer, so I went over to test drive one. The minute I started to play with it, I loved it, and it was so user friendly!! They had a used Daisy for sale(a very basic model) and I bought it. I think a sewing machine is like a musical instrument. The minute you play it, it just feels right or not.
    Interestingly, I just bought another used Viking, a Rose, to do embroidery and other stuff and it is great and alot of fun as well.
    Only thing, is that the feet and accessories are unique to the brand and not too cheap, but that is all I can think of that would be a negative.
    Good Luck!!

• Related Discussions

reader writer

Q

Comments (3)