SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
katsmah

Why do contractors think we're stupid?

katsmah
18 years ago

I've had 2 large jobs done on my house, and both times listening to the crap that I have been told by contractors has made me shudder. I'm a professional woman who owns my own home in an expensive area - what makes them think that I will accept their B.S.?

Four years ago I had a family room addition put on my house. The heating contractors and the project foreman tried their hardest to convince me that running the baseboard pipes through a closet to get to the exterior wall on one end of the room and putting the baseboard on an interior wall on the other end of the room was the correct way to heat the room. It wasn't until I told them in no uncertain terms how they would do the job that they did so.

This morning I asked the contractor who just finished my Bluestone porch why there is a 2 inch cememt filled space between the stone and my house. I knew I should have stayed home from work that day to make sure they were doing the job correctly! Unfortunately by the time I got home from work the job was completed. His reply was that they didn't want to get the stone too close to the brick. I was actually left speechless by that reply.

Is there something that I'm missing with these guys? Do men get the same B.S. stories that women do?

Comments (39)

• rileysmom17
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Absolutely. I think I posted on another forum JUST YESTERDAY the same baffled question. My latest quote from supposedly-best-flooring-guy-in-town: 'It's impossible to get vinyl tile squares to abut without lips because the underlayment is never perfectly flat'.