SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
clueless_gw

Should I save $$ by replacing floor myself?

clueless
18 years ago

I just got a quote for $8,000 to put 900 s.f. of Mannington Adura Luxury Tile in my house, which includes the tile, installation, removal of 700 s.f. of carpet, 2 layers of 150 s.f. vinyl floorcovering (no asbestos), and a 50 s.f. area of ceramic tile.

My brother says that's a ridiculous price for something so simple to do myself since I don't have extra money to throw away.

Bro says to install real ceramic tile myself, and forget about the Adura.

Note: He lives 1,500 miles away and won't be around to help me if I get in a jam.

I have never done any DIY work before. Bro says to get a video from the library and "any idiot can do it".

Is this true or am I likely to be making a big mistake installing the tile myself?

Thanks for your advice!

Any Idiot

Comments (28)

• cindyandmocha
    18 years ago

Tiling is do-able yourself. Definitely you should check out the John Bridge Tile forum, often recommended over on the bathrooms forum. It has the best advice about DIY tile and is a site devoted to just that. Below is a link :)

Here is a link that might be useful: http://johnbridge.com/vbulletin/index.php

• kudzu9
    18 years ago