SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
brachl_gw

how to choose windows?

brachl
16 years ago

I posted this question on the Windows forum, but this forum seems more active, so I am posting it here, too. I have read many postings on this forum and the Windows forum, and I have not found a decision tree for choosing replacment windows. Is there such a thing? I am new to these two forums,as we have now decided that we should focus first on the outside of our house before we do our inside remodel (which I have been planning for many months). We will be replacing our siding with Hardie Plank, and we are considering replacing all 35 of our windows, too. Our house was built in 1987 as a spec house, and the current windows are not great. The company we plan to use for the Hardie Plank has recommended that we use Alside vinyl windows. When I asked the salesman about wood, fiberglass or alumninum windows, he told me that people in our area (the middle of North Carolina) don't use fiberglass, that aluminum is used mainly for commercial buildings, and that there was no reason to spend the extra $ for wood. Once he left, I immediately came to GW and researched vinyl windows on both this forum and Windows. While i found some valuable information, I am still confused. How should I go about deciding what windows to get? I assume that we would get only windows that have good Energy Star, Solar Heat Gain Coefficient and U-value ratings. I also assume we should consider Condensation Resistance,Air Infiltration, and Visible Transmittance. After we look at these ratings, what other factors should we consider -- cost, aesthetics, material, maintenance, warranty? Anything else? Thanks in advance from this windows newbie.

Comments (11)

• amyspaetzle262
    16 years ago

Check out:
    http://www.replacement-windows.com/windowbb/index.php
    Base on the information I found there, I compiled a checklist of items...type of glass, spacer, etc. That helped me when I was window shopping. Good luck.