SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
valleigh_gw

Has anyone used a CM instead of GC?

valleigh
14 years ago

We are thinking of going the construction management route instead of GC. If you have done that, can share what your experience was and how it worked out in terms of the quality of work and meeting a budget?

Comments (18)

• worthy
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I am a builder who has gone the management route several times, even though I think more money could be made in other arrangements. I suggested the management route as the clients couldn't pin down just what their choices were until the construction was under way. Since I'm just one guy and a part-time bookkeeper, I didn't think I could have handled the cost plus route. The only other way I have built is fixed price with some choices in materials at the same price and extras when the client wants them.

I think the cm route--and cost plus, for that matter-- requires a lot of trust by the homeowner that the manager is a person who is honest above all.

I know of managers who boast of the ways they "take" the owner. Pretty simple really: kickbacks from the subtrades and suppliers. No matter how many quotes you insist on, you can't control that. And, in my case, I don't even bother with competitive quotes in certain things but go with the subs that have always come through in the past with good dependable work.

Nevertheless, if I were you, I would ask for quotes and your manager's reasons for recommending one over the other. Also, I would get in writing an estimate of overall costs and a range for sub-trades/suppliers. In the last construction management build I did, the owner went way over my estimates by insisting on all kinds of extras. And in other matters, he ordered things that I could have saved him thousands on if he had asked.

• mightyanvil
    14 years ago