SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
pshaffer_gw

Need help with Kitchen Remodel Budget

pshaffer
12 years ago

I need help on budgeting for an upcoming kitchen remodel. I have extensive DIY experience, but would like to do as little of the work as possible to make our budget. I will not do any electrical or plumbing, as a mistake causing fire or flood is simply not tolerable. Everything else is far game (from demolition to painting to making the cabinets in my home wood shop). I have never tackled a project as important (to the overall value of the house) and extensive as a kitchen and quite frankly am intimidated. So I figured I would ask here from a reality check and advice.

Our home is a 1966 ranch original kitchen (complete with speckled laminate countertops) in the greater Boston area. This is a cookie-cutter 3 bedroom ranch house with simple ranch style baseboard and casings, oak flooring, 8 ft ceilings, and slab interior doors to give you an idea of style. It has a framed pantry at one end a classic L-shaped kitchen. The dimensions of the room are 12' by 13', but the pantry takes up 2.5' along on leg of the L, so the cabinets would have a 9.5 x 13 run. So this would probably be a complete gut, down to subfloor and sheetrock. We also have 93 inch ceilings and a 7 inch soffit currently. We would remove the soffit if feasible (need to poke holes) and put in 36 inch upper cabinets and 2-3 inch simple crown. We have complete access to the floor from the basement below and the ceiling from the attic above. Now where I really need advice/reality check, budget. We were thinking around $20,000 total, broken down as follows:

New Tile Floor: $1500 (DIY demo existing and professional install of ceramic) (~150 sqft)

Electric: $500 (move dedicated DW outlet)

Plumbing: $500 (water supply to frig and drain for DW)

Cabinets: $6000 (cherry 5 piece drawer and doors, recessed panel, very little if any glass)

Island: $1500 (possibly black painted, approximately 36 x 60)