SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
dreamgarden_gw

Panicking savers of Britain's fifth-biggest mortgage lender

dreamgarden
16 years ago

The sub-prime mess continues to wreak havoc both here and abroad....

Panic grips Northern Rock savers for second day

by Ben Perry

Sep 14, 2007

Hundreds of worried customers of embattled British bank Northern Rock queued outside branches for a second day on Saturday to grab savings, ignoring assurances that the mortgage lender will not go bust.

Long queues began forming throughout Britain as people gathered outside branches as early as 6:00 am (0500 GMT).

Extra staff were drafted in and opening hours were extended to deal with the many disgruntled customers.

"I'm an accountant, I should know better (than to worry)," said a man in his 50s who wished to remain anonymous and who had been queuing outside Northern Rock's Golders Green branch in London since 8:00 am.

"I shouldn't be here ... My head tells me it's all right but my heart says otherwise," he told AFP.

At midday the queue outside the Golders Green branch was about 100 metres (yards) long. At some branches, queuing customers were being offered free fruit juice and chocolates.

Panicking savers of Britain's fifth-biggest mortgage lender had begun to withdraw their money en masse Friday, taking out a reported billion pounds (two billion dollars, 1.45 billion euros).

The Bank of England had Friday agreed an emergency lending facility for Northern Rock after the mortgage lender said it was facing severe difficulties raising cash to cover its liabilities amid the ongoing global credit squeeze.

Northern Rock has said it has yet to borrow any money from the BoE's emergency fund.

Nevertheless, the bank is the first major British financial institution to reveal a serious reaction to the global credit crunch sparked last month by a crisis in the US subprime, or high-risk, mortgage sector.