SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lkplatow

Hopelessly confused about window treatments

lkplatow
14 years ago

I admit it. I am not good at window treatments. AT ALL. So I need help, and lots of it.

Here's the deal. I recently redid our master bedroom. (I'll post pics as soon as I find the cord to download them from the camera, LOL!). We now have apple green walls (SW Springtime) and white trim. The bedding is a black and white floral duvet cover (

, though this picture doesn't do it justice. We have cream colored sheets, a black pencil post bed, and the other furniture is sort of a light cherry color. The floors are hardwood - the color of old pumpkin pine, almost. The whole effect is kind of cottage, I guess, if I had to name-the-style.

I really like how everything came together (considering I've never really redone a room from scratch like this). But then there's the windows....oy. There are 3 of them, double-hung, about 35" high and 60" high. Two are on one wall and one is on the other. Because it's the master bedroom, we need privacy. We also need light control - it doesn't have to be pitch dark, but we do need something to block the sun in the AM - it shines directly on the bed at about 6 am these days. Right now, we're using a couple sets of old plantation shutters that aren't the right size for the windows, so they're leaning on the floor and covering the lower half of the window (privacy yes, light control no!)