SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lavender_lass

I'm not a neat cook and my sink isn't that big!

lavender_lass
13 years ago

I just read on the marble post (beautiful kitchen by the way) that it's better not to leave dishes on the countertop for more than a few minutes. It was suggested that the poster put them in the sink or better yet, the dishwasher.

Here's my problem. I'm a messy cook, I'm not a constant cleaner and I don't think that's ever going to change. As I type this, I just finished baking cinnamon muffins, I'm frying chicken for tomorrow (date was up and I didn't want it to go bad) and my husband has had the flu the last few days. I have water glasses etc. in one area, the afternoon's dishes are almost done...I have baking dishes on the other counter and more frying dishes to be cleaned, shortly.

I don't have a sink this big! LOL There are already dishes in the dishwasher and as I type this I have to wonder...is laminate my only choice? (Sorry, I'm back...I had to turn the chicken.) Anyway, are there any other countertops that are going to work with my hard (well) water, lots of baking, not always cleaned up from one project, before I start the next, lifestyle? And...I do let dishes sometimes sit on the counter...sometimes all night, before I'm able to get them all through the dishwasher.

Am I alone? Are there any others, who don't have immaculate kitchens and get all the dishes done, before they go eat, watch TV, get kids to bed, or pets settled for the evening? Just wondering :)

And for all those, who are able to have beautiful kitchens and lovely countertops...I'm jealous, but happy with my messy counters, at least for a few more hours. Next load of dishes is almost ready to go in!

Comments (48)

• zartemis
    13 years ago

Do you dislike granite? Our mottled one even hides counter grungies so well that I have to physically feel across the counter to make sure it's all clean -- I can't tell it's dirty sometimes!

• natschultz
    13 years ago