SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
cplover

Small Kitchen & Dining Room - Layout Advice Needed

cplover
13 years ago

Hi. I am having problems coming up with a layout that works for my first floor. Every design I try seems to compromise another room. For example, the flipped layout I have been trying out makes the dining room area difficult. The layout I had before turns the living room into swiss cheese. The problem is too many doorways and its seems whatever I move, I cannot eliminate enough of them. DH is ready to kill me because we have found our contractors and have the funds available BUT nothing can happen until I figure out this layout! So I thought I should start with a clean GW slate!

Here is what you need to know (if you do not already)! Home is a 1957 ranch. I am a solo cook and do a lot of cooking and DH does clean up. No children but hopefully soon. This is not our forever house-- maybe 5-10 years. We eat most meals at the dining room table. We are not looking for a fancy dining room. Just a nice eat in kitchen with a table that can accomodate 4 easily and 6-8 on special occasions.

Currently we are without a dishwasher and pantry area and really lacking in counterspace. A dishwasher is a must. We will be gutting everything and will buy all new cabinets, appliances (including CD Fridge, 30" gas range), DR and Kitchen windows. The wall between the DR and kitchen can be removed. The window sizes can change. Microwave can be built in a shelf or a microhood. Sink does not have to be under window.

Here is the current layout of my home: