SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
holligator_gw

Reconditioning, restoring, remodeling....where to begin?

holligator
15 years ago

I'm new to the pool forum, but now that we have our kitchen remodel finished, the pool will be one of our next jobs. I have been reading the pool threads for awhile, but most seem to be about new pool construction. I don't even know where to begin with this project, and I could use your help. It's embarrassing that we've lived with this pool for so long and know so little about pools.

First, a little background...

We are in north, central Florida, and we have lived in this house for 12 years. When we purchased the house, we were told that the pool was around 20 years old, so it's at least 30 years old now. The house is about 70 years old. It's a large (~35,000 gallons), rectangular pool except for a swim out area on one side of the deep end and steps in the shallow end. The deck is what I think is Kool Deck, but it is seriously worn in spots. There is a brick patio extending from our sunroom out about 10 or 12 feet. The pool has brick coping around about half of it with kind of ugly brownish tiles below that (see pics below). On the part without brick, the Kool Deck goes right up to the edge. The whole thing is covered by a screen enclosure that was seriously damaged in a storm. We have put off replacing screens because the structure itself really needs to be replaced.

{{gwi:2025699}}

Sorry I don't have better pics, but my computer with all the pics is in for repair and I'm using a loaner. Those were the only ones I had uploaded anywhere.

So, here's what I know I would like to do...