SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
sunsetsammy

The truth about concrete countertops

sunsetsammy
16 years ago

If you are considering concrete for your countertops you've probably done a fair bit of research and reading. You've probably heard about all the pros and cons. It seems there are very few people with concrete countertops who will actually tell you the truth about what its like living with them. Maybe it's pride. Nobody wants to admit they've made a wrong choice or decision. If you are thinking about going this route please read the following. Concrete countertops are not for everyone!

After spending almost an entire year researching and learning about concrete countertops I finally took the plunge on this exciting DIY project. I am an aircraft mechanic/builder and I admit that I'm somewhat of a perfectionist.

There are many different ways to do concrete countertops but I settled on Cheng's way. I had the video which I borrowed from a friend and it was an excellent tool. His method works well and the countertops fit nicely and are very strong and have yet to crack. I won't go into the details about the creation of the counters only the finished results.

I decided on a charcoal grey colour and liked the flat look without exposing aggregate. This took away the final step of grinding with diamond pads which seems time consuming and expensive.