SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
punkyduckkt

Help with an ugly house.

Punkyduckkt
13 years ago

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this web page as well as owning a home. I posted this on another forum and someone suggested I add a picture and post here. So here we go. My boyfriend and I recently purchased a house. The house was built in the 1950's. It is painted white with a gray roof, red shutters and a red porch. There is no landscaping other than grass. This house is UGLY on the outside and I am at a loss as to what to do with it. We are tight on money right now so painting the entire thing is out of the question right now. Does anyone have any ideas as to what colors we could paint the trim/ porch to make this look a little nicer. Also advice for garden plans would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks All!

Here is a link that might be useful: Our front yard

Comments (45)

• gwbr54
    13 years ago

here's the image, but it's small:

• rmkitchen
    13 years ago

I am off to bed and I want to think about it, but for now your house is NOT ugly. It's cute and you'll be able to have lots of fun with it. Congratulations to you and your bf!

Okay, in what zone do you live? That'll help with the gardening ideas. Glad you're here!

• Related Discussions

Need Help! We bought an ugly house!

Q

Comments (3)
    STEP ONE: Relax. It's not nearly as ugly as you think it is. Live there for a while and decide what to do. Also - visit the landscaping forum at Gardenweb and ask advice. Post several pictures - GOOD ones, not fuzzy cell phone stuff: 1 - full front of house, taken from across the street so we can see the whole thing. Include approximate dimensions. 2 and 3 - Pictures taken from an angle that show the front corners and sides of the house. READ THESE: http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/56289/create_your_own_landscape_design.html http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/51060/frugal_landscapingdont_waste_money.html Here is a link that might be useful: landscape forum