SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ericwww_gw

Small galley kitchen needs design assistance to maximize utility

EricWww
12 years ago

You may have seen my range vs wall oven thread, but now I need help with layout :)

Background: I live alone, I'm a guy in my late 20s, I do cook as much as I can but I'm far from a professional chef lol. The house is a 1000 sq ft 1950's ranch with a galley kitchen. It has the original cabinets with appliances updated in I believe the late 90s.

I've done some minor modifications including an OTR microwave and a 36" wide single sink. I also changed the lighting from the single sterile florescent fixture to dimmable track lighting. I tore out the original 1950s looking ceiling exhaust fan and repainted the walls and ceiling (white for now).

My complaints on the layout:

1) Not enough counterspace. There's NO counterspace to the right of the cook top and only 20" to the left until you hit the sink.

2) Not enough storage space, there's a pantry but I plan on getting rid of it.

3) The fridge door opens the "wrong" way.

To address these: My plans:

-Keep the overall layout- the sink and DW will NOT move. The cooktop & fridge will stay in the same general area. It does follow the triangle.

-Get rid of the wall oven and replace with range OR move the wall oven (more on this later).

-Change the cabinets and have the uppers that go all the way to the ceiling. (there's nothing behind the existing soffits)

-Change the appliances, to stainless. French door fridge.

-Redo the flooring with hardwood extended in from the next room over.

-I'm keeping the sink as it's only a year old and can be used over or undermount with a new countertop.

The parts I'm still in the air about:

- I'm leaning towards getting rid of the wall oven and putting in a range, that way I'll have counter space both left and right of the cooktop. BUT I do like having the oven at eye level.