SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
sparklingwater_gw

Ceiling lights:updating kitchen/pantry

SparklingWater
12 years ago

Hello. I am new to the lighting forum. I am in the planning stages of a galley kitchen (12'x7') and adjacent eat in pantry (11'x7') update, leaving its basic footprint intact as it works so well. This means new cabinets with ucl's, appliances, sinks yet same plumbing layout for water and gas lines, and utilizing current electrical wiring as much as feasible. There are numerous lights and outlets in both rooms as well as a good amount of unused electrical circuits in the basement circuit box.

The two galley kitchen/pantry rooms are connected via a large open door frame. I posted on the house repair forum regarding the sole window in this linear run, which is above the pantry eating area (east). There is additional ambient window light adjacent to the kitchen (west) and in the adjacent dining room (south). I am plannning under-cabinet lighting (there are fluorescent lights under each cabinet uppers now so circuitry is there already), first time recessed lights and probable removal of central hanging kitchen fixture light so as have uninterrupted ceiling height (8'6") to give a taller room feel.

Below is a picture of one of two similar 13"x13" adjacent pantry ceiling lights. These are Kirlin Company, Detroit, MI "flare" lights I believe and have frosted glass fronts which drop down for opening, revealing a 300 W max lightbulb fixture, followed by a recessed area which, when peaking past the top of the metal light box with a flashlight, appears rather deep.