SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
coolbeansw

Help rescue me from Backsplash blues

coolbeansw
16 years ago

My new kitchen was installed 17 months ago, without a backsplash. I've been wrestling with that final decision for the past three months, and have pretty much decided on back-painted plate glass. I am totally stumped about what color to use, however, and need to decide before Friday's appointment with the glass templater. Please help me!!

Cabinets are glossy laminate in platinum grey with aluminum grips; counters are black silver granite; floor is blue-grey porcelain tile; everything else in kitchen is black or aluminum/SS.

TIA. I am truly decorating-challenged.

Here is a link that might be useful: Kitchen in need of a Backsplash

Comments (33)

• vwhippiechick
    16 years ago

I will give an opinion but just so you know, I have so far been unable to make this decision for my own kitchen.:-)In looking at your photos, I see some primary color accents like red and blue. These seem like very saturated colors and to me a backsplash in those would be a very stark contrast. Have you considered a warm turquoise? I have seen that in several magazine kitchens. Good luck.

• kelleg69
    16 years ago

I would say with to go with something more neutral--something of which you won't tire. My MIL has a smoky mirror backsplash that looks really good and it is over 20 years old. I guess glass tile in grays and whites might be neat too. Good luck. This is a tough one.

• Related Discussions

Please help me with some backsplash ideas!

Q

Comments (1)
    (Already reposted on the Discussions side)
    ...See More

another backsplash help thread (pics)..help me design

Q

Comments (12)