SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
old_salt_gw

Ductless Mini-split air conditioning

old_salt
15 years ago

Newbie here: Just read 3 years of this thread ..! Good exchanges; last was March.'08. My question: Can anyone support me in my plan to use a dual split unit for just the front two BR's? Spouse want's to go triple and also cool the larger of the two rear BR's ... resale value of 'fully' AC'd in the listing...

I am providing gory detail, as I hope to provoke various short comments on specific areas. Please don't think I expect any one person to do anything beyond sharing some specific applicable experience ..!

Not new to MrSlim; have 1-year old unit on rear wall, above 'shed' roof, between 2nd/3rd floors of 3 story 1930's vintage home. Evap is 18K and lives near top of dormer, 10 inches below peak of sloping-wall finished attic. We now enjoy two 'attic' guest bedrooms with double beds and common sitting area. Highest electric bill this summer was $250, even though our average settings were below 74 degrees with normal Hampton Road 90-90 temp-humid ... We cool the whole 2600 sq ft house with MrSlim in attic (stairway open), a single 6K window unit in our MBR (spouse loves it COOL & I hate the noise) and a custom-ducted 1978 30K btu retrofit on 1st floor. I still can't believe how much of that heat-dumping must be due to the efficient new unit in the attic. As 1930's houses here were not insulated, this one had cellulose blown in thru holes in the cedar shingles back in the '50's or so, probably when the two long-gone Whispairs were installed ... go figure!