SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
uh60pilot

Buyers Remorse and a few questions

uh60pilot
15 years ago

I have been shopping for an HVAC system for a couple of months. I think I have made my final decision. I went under the assumption that overall quality of the top brands is similar. I entertained bids from 2 dealers for Carrier, Trane, and American Standard. After much deliberating I went with the Trane. I am having buyers remorse and since I still have time to cancel the order I am looking for reasurance that my decision was a valid one.

I just purchased this home. I did so knowing that the HVAC system needed to be replaced. The existing Payne A/C is completely shot and the furnace is 35-40 years old.

The home is in NE Ohio and 73 years old. It is all brick and aproximately 2000sf not including the 400sf finished basement. There is insulation in the attic but I assume there is no insulation in the exterior walls or at least it's probably very ineffective. The windows are single pane, but there are storm windows on all of them. (I can't bring myself to change the windows they are all leaded glass.) We usually heat to about 65-67 never above 70 and cool to around 77 we go all the way down to 74 if we've been working in the yard all day and are hot but not regularly.

All of the contractors did a J and came up with the same #'s for requirements. 80000btu when going high efficiency and 3 ton A/C though one came up with 3.5 ton. Which would mean 4 ton with Trane. The existing furnace is 160000btu and the Payne is a 3 ton.