SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
msl511

Just getting started - First KD meeting

msl511
11 years ago

I'm just getting started on my gut renovation and I thought I'd put questions on different topics in different posts. I hope that works for everyone.

I met with the first KD yesterday and I'd like some feedback on my initial experience. This is going to be a long one. In case anyone is from the area and has things to say pro or con, it's The Kitchen Loft in Bronxville, NY.

Michael came to my house for 2 hours. He started by looking around the kitchen. He didn't ask a lot about how the kitchen is used (ie, what kind of cooking, how often, how many people cook at a time), although he did ask how many people in the family, how much we entertain and what the max number of people is that we're likely to have over. He started with the issue of where to put the appliances, which makes sense to me. Over the course of the discussion, I volunteered a great deal of information that seemed relevant to me but that he didn't ask about off the bat, for instance, that I want two ovens, that I want desk space, that I've been planning on an island but don't care about seating at it, the way certain current cabinet configurations weren't working for me, that I want the lower cabs to be mostly or all drawers (thank you GW!)and that I'm planning on taking down the wall between the kitchen and the DR. I assured him that two different contractors told me it's not a load bearing wall. This didn't seem to be something he could tell for himself.