SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lizbartlett

Cooking Burnout...anyone else??

lizzie_grow
10 years ago

Once again, it is time to fix dinner & I feel so lazy about it! Not sure what is going on...is it just that I've been cooking dinners for hubby & family for almost 47 years? I have tons of cookbooks, get a couple of mags that have recipes, and so that's no excuse.

Think part of it is that I'm never sure when my DH is getting home from the office....sometimes he runs late with clients, so I tend to do a lot of soups this time of year, so they're ready whenever. Plus it's just the two of us & he is really easy to please. We eat healthy & fresh & don't like to eat out too often during the week.

Anyone else having this happen....if so, what are you doing about it? I need a good kick in the derriere, I think!!

Comments (37)

• User
    10 years ago

47 years is a long time! No wonder burnout has set in! I'm in a similar boat, where as I used to love to cook and plan meals for the family but have had no interest in cooking for the past couple of years. The only time I do is when my DH joins me and we cook together. There are just so many other things I'd rather be doing. Grocery shopping is another part of the equation that doesn't thrill me either. :c(

• funnygirl
    10 years ago

Yes, I can relate to everything you said. In addition to cooking and cleaning, there is the time spent grocery shopping....BLECH! Fortunately my DH also is fine with whatever I put together or fending for himself. Most nights we put a salad together and call it done. I do find it much easier to maintain my weight with our light dinners, so that's a plus. Tomorrow I'm going all out and putting a slow cooker meal together which will provide leftovers for a night or two.

• Related Discussions

pepper sauce: to cook or not to cook

Q

Comments (6)