SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ponotte

Nearly Finished French Ikea Kitchen - need advice for backsplash

ponotte
15 years ago

Hi,

This is my first time posting to this forum, but I have used it a lot for inspiration during my kitchen building experience.

We bought an apartment in a two hundred year old (maybe older!) building that burnt down three years ago, which insurance paid to have completely renovated. It's in a historic section of a small French city so they had to recreate the original building to a T on the exterior, but the interior is much more modern feeling.

The (re)builder didn't build a kitchen, figuring whoever bought the unit would do it themselves. So, here we are.

We're a young couple on a pretty tight budget. We went with Ikea Adel Blanc/White cabinets. Luckily a friend is a kitchen installer and has been able to help us modify some of the cabinets (most notably to completely hide our water heater which was a terrible eyesore just hanging out in the kitchen before...Can you guess where it is?).

The work is pretty much done (I will post extensive details once it's totally done), but there are three things which are left to do and I am at a total loss.

1. Lighting. Should we hang pendant lamps down from the bar to the right of the hood? Or just stick with little spot lights?