SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
thglife50

HVAC Advice for a Newbie

thglife50
11 years ago

Thanks for reading my post and any advice that you may have. I have no knowledge about HVAC systems so both presentations sounded great to me. I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.
I live in a 3 story townhouse in northern VA (20166). We run AC pretty aggressively from May until early October. Our current system is getting really expensive and it is on its last leg. We decided to get a few estimates.

Company 1: Option- 1 Gold SI / SV - American Standard Series System (13 seer) 2.5 ton
"Model#AUD060R9V3K 80% efficiency two-stage variable speed gas fired furnace
"Model#4A7A3030E 2.5 ton R-410 (Puron) environmentally friendly refrigerant,
13 SEER high efficiency air conditioning unit
"Model#4TXCB0036BC3HCA (Puron) cooling coil to replace existing
Install 1-ACONT602A 7 day Digital two-stage thermostat
** They did have a cheaper option but said we should get the 2 stage since our 3rd level gets unbearable

Company 2:Carrier Infinity 17 seer (3 ton)
model#: 24anb736 2 stage A/C with on demand Dehumidifier AFUE: 80 Input: 90,000
Model#: 58cva090-1-16 2 stage heat viriable speed blower
AprilAire 600 (something I can't make out) humidifier
Thisone has a 10 year parts warranty vs a 2 year with the American standard
Company 2 sized at a 3 ton because Carrier apparently doesn't make a 2.5 ton in the Infinity line
So my question is:
Is the second system worth an additional $3400, both in comfort and savings? I have very little knowledge about the 2 stage but it sounds impressive for constant room temps. The more expensive unit would have 3 years 0% financing while the first one would be paying cash without a loan. It would obviously free up finances for a few years even though it is more expensive.

Comments (27)

• mike_home
    11 years ago