SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_16331601

How did you and your Dear One get together?

User
17 years ago

I thought it would be an enriching moment to think back and tell how it all began. I read all of the recent thread on weddings/daughters/cost and it got me thinking back to my story which led to wondering about others' stories. My DH and I have had a hard couple of weeks with his health questions and that has also played a part in my wanting to look back and remember. So here is our story :

It was September 1970 in New Orleans . I was a student at Loyola U in the music dept. It was housed in a wonderful mansion on St Charles Ave across from Audubon Park. I was in the basement , where the practice rooms were located. I was getting ready to leave for a class across campus. A young man entered the building and walked up to me and asked if I knew where Ed Donnelly was. I said that I did and proceeded to walk him back to a practice room where Ed was playing the piano. I started to leave but Ed introduced the other young man as his brother and they said they were leaving to walk across campus too and they would walk me to class. As a side note Ed and I had known each other as fellow students for a couple years and I had given him rides to and from campus since he does not drive due to a genetic eye problem. Robert has the same reduced vision.

We left the building and started across the parking lot. We were chatting back and forth. His brother Robert then started telling a joke. The punch line is " he's not the fish Friar he is the chip monk"....I laughed and laughed as it was a "new " joke to me. They dropped me at my class and went on.