SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
bevangel_i_h8_h0uzz

Finger-jointed wall studs?????

We're not to the point of framing yet but the other day I stopped by where a soon-to-be neighbor is also building their new home (partly to introduce myself but mostly because I just love seeing houses in the process of being built.) Anyway, as my soon-to-be neighbor was showing me around her home, I suddenly noticed that practically all of the 2x4 framing in her walls was made of finger-jointed wood!

I swear, I've been walking thru homes under construction since I was probably 10 years old and I have never noticed anything like that before. Is this something new that builders are doing? If so, are the walls as strong as they would be if built with regular studs?

My neighbor's house is a two-story with 10 foot ceilings up and down and I walked away shuddering that her house will fall down the first time we have a good Texas wind.

Anybody know anything about whether such studs will hold up? If not, maybe I should contact my neighbor and alert her.

Comments (47)

• owl_at_home
    16 years ago

My house also has 10-foot walls, and we used studs that were made of shorter pieces joined together. The builder said these are used for that length of studs because it is harder to get 10-foot boards good and straight. I was also told repeatedly by several people that they are considered stronger or, like pinktoes says, more stable. (I don't know. I'm just repeating what I was told.)

I can say that every single professional person who walked through the house prior to sheetrock - from the door salesman to my uncle who is a framer himself in another state - commented on how superior the framing looked.

• Related Discussions

metal stud wall concerns

Q

Comments (0)