SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
deliciousguacamole

Hot climate attics: insulation & ventilation question

deliciousguacamole
10 years ago

I'm turning to the great GW board for help! I'm new to the south and we're building a new home -- it's in the planning stages now. We're in southern Louisiana.

Should our attic (approx 1600 sq ft) have ventilation? One HVAC company we met with said we should just insulate the attic with open-cell foam, and not ventilate it at all. Our architect recommends a ridge vent or non-motorized wind turbine (those spinning mushroom vents). Because of our house's construction (right up against neighbors' walls), we can't do gable vents.

The roof material will be an asphalt shingle (medium grey). Various mechanical equipment will be in the attic, i.e. tankless water heater and heat-pump air handler.

Does anyone in hot-weather climates have a recommendation? Thanks in advance!

Comments (31)

• renovator8
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Any attic that contains mechanical equipment and ducts should be included within the conditioned space of the house. That means insulation should go in the roof rafters instead of the floor.

As for venting, the purpose of it is to allow moisture to escape the attic so a 1" space can be left between the insulation and the bottom of the roof deck with eave and ridge vents or foam insulation can be sprayed against the bottom of the roof deck and the vents omitted (sealed attic).

In no case should you use a gable vent or a wind turbine to ventilate your attic.

• Brian_Knight
    10 years ago