SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kaysd_gw

Do bathrooms need to match the kitchen?

kaysd
13 years ago

Do you think it is okay for the kitchen and bathrooms in a house to be completely different in styles and materials? We recently purchased a 50 year old house, and the kitchen and 2 baths all need a face lift. The kitchen will probably have to wait at least a year, for many reasons. We want to do the baths sooner due to terrible storage issues and a possible leak behind one of the showers.

At this point, we have no idea what cabinet style or other materials we will put in the kitchen. The house is a Southern California ranch with no distinct style. It has a few elements (large picture windows and vaulted wood ceilings) that strike me as contemporary or MCM (although I am by no means an expert). I am inclined to go more modern than traditional with this house, especially in the bathrooms, but our living and dining room furniture, which are visible from the kitchen and which we cannot afford to replace, are more traditional.

In our last house, left over granite from the kitchen inspired the two bathrooms. The kitchen had transitional/traditional medium red cherry cabinets with raised panels, and the bathroom cabinets were more modern with darker red high gloss cherry "pillowed" doors, but there was some continuity between the spaces because of the other materials. All 3 rooms had the same green granite counters. The kitchen backsplash was tumbled marble with ming green marble accents, while the shower and tub surrounds were stone-look porcelain with ming green marble listellos. All three rooms had brushed nickel accessories.