Houzz Logo Print
secsteve

Acronis Problems

18 years ago

This will be a bit long but I really need help/advice.

I bought Acronis True Image 10 in October and attempted to back up my entire system (which according to Acronis should included not having to re-install software). Shortly thereafter I did the validation check and everything else they suggested with messages back and forth. I wanted to know if the entire system was indeed backed up and why I showed the same thing when I validated 5 times and checked it other ways they suggested. This went on from October until now.

I recently had a new, larger hard drive installed and when I tried to re-install certain programs had no luck. Today I received the following message after sending them a snapshot:

1) Please note that according to the screen shot you have splitted full backup.

When you click on any part of the backup and want to execute any backup/restore/explore/mount operation the product detects the whole backup. That is why you had the same snapshots.

If you created the full backup of system partition/disk then all data is backed up.

2) Please note that you can not restore the separate applications from the image since the applications usually change the registry during the installation. You can restore the applications only restoring the whole image of the system partition/disk.

First off, I did the my computer backup as instructed in the manual. So why do I have split backup and what does that mean? If understand the second paragraph correctly, I can't restore individual files/programs because of the split backup.

I'm totally confused at this point and all I want to do is get certain programs/files from the old drive and put them on the new drive. There is an application called my data backup. Should I have used that?

I appreciate everyone's help very much on this forum.

Comment (1)

0
Sponsored
Buckeye Restoration & Remodeling Inc.
Average rating: 5 out of 5 stars7 Reviews
Central Ohio's Premier Home Remodelers Since 1996