SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ooakfolk

Induction cooktops -- can you use more than one large pot?

ooakfolk
12 years ago

We are replacing our counter tops and I've been told that if we are going to replace our cook top now is the time to do it.

I have always wanted gas for the control it offers over heat strength but when I looked into induction they seem to offer even more control than gas.

However, I am concerned about the following:

1. All 30" induction units have only 1 large "burner". I am not a professional chef but I am an avid home cook and I frequently have 2 or even 3 large pots on the cooktop at one time. How do the induction cooktops manage that?

2. I have many pots and pans that are larger than 11". In fact, I rarely use a pot smaller than 4 qt sauce. How does induction manage a 14" saute pan or a 12" 20-qt stock pot? Some of my Le-Creuset pots are HUGE! (We live in the US and I see no zone-free units for sale here.)

3. We currently have a GE ceramic glass cooktop which I hate passionately, especially the fact that any setting less than high will cause the heat to cycle on an off which means the the unit has, effectively, only two settings -- high and off -- which makes it impossible to cook anything on low. Does induction cycling do the same thing?

We would have to bring gas to the kitchen to install a gas cook top which makes induction the cheapest option (90% of my pots will work) so I'm tempted to go with induction but, knowing how much I loved gas, I'm afraid I will regret it.

Also, I see no induction cooktops with a downdraft -- does that mean induction cooking does not need a vent?

Thank you,

Barb

Comments (28)

• larsi_gw
    12 years ago

If you are replacing your counter tops, why stay with a 30" Cooktop???

I have the Miele 36" KM 5773 Induction Cooktop, and LOVE, LOVE it. Thermador, Electrolux and Bosch also make great Induction units.