SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
yborgal

labmomma-----pewter

yborgal
17 years ago

I'm happy to learn there's someone else out there who collects pewter. Mine isn't the real thing; it's the alternative metal by Wilton Armetale and Arthur Court. I call it pewter, though.

I love it but I find that unless I pair it up with a dramatic color, like black or deep red, then it looks cold and uninviting.

I don't think it looks good with pastels, but maybe it's because I'm a newbie at tablescapes and don't quite know what I'm doing.

How do you present it on your table to make it look inviting?

Comments (27)

• labmomma
    17 years ago

So happy to find another pewter collector! Can you share where you found the placesettings in your St. Pat's pics? I don't have any placesettings, but I have enough accessory pieces to choke a horse:). My pieces are from family, tag, estate and antique sales. I am always on the lookout. I didn't know you could eat off of the pewter. When I use my larger plates/chargers, I put either a doily, leaves (Williams-Sonoma) or another plate over the pewter. I use them for serving hor de overs (sp??) and things like that. I really don't clean the pewter except with a soft cloth. I like the "aged" pewter look myself. I also have a lot of silver in the attic and I hate the cleaning so I don't use it much.

I have used all kinds of colors with my pewter. I think you need to use all of the same types/like colors to make it work. The only pieces I really haven't been able to use are my wall sconces. We recently painted our l/r, d/r and foyer a soft gold. In fact, I posted on the home decorating thread asking for ideas, but didn't get much help. The pewter does not look good on the gold wall.LOL